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A s directed by the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP), 
HP Enterprise Services (HPES) will perform provider re-enrollment for 

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up providers on a recurring basis to ensure 
that every provider is re-enrolled at least every 36 months. 

The re-enrollment process, which began June 1, 2012, is being performed in 
phases so that not all providers have to re-enroll at the same time.  A re-
enrollment letter will be sent to providers 60 days prior to the provider’s enroll-
ment end date.  The letter will include the Provider Web Portal location of the 
Provider Enrollment Application and Contract and the Enrollment Checklist for 
each provider type.  The re-enrollment packet must be submitted within the re-
quested time frames or the provider’s contract will be terminated. 

Providers who have been enrolled the longest length of time will be notified and 
re-enrolled first.  For example, providers who have recently completed re-
enrollment activities, such as Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and Behav-
ioral Health providers, will be notified to re-enroll toward the end of the 36-
month period that started June 1, 2012. 

Please review the Provider Re-Enrollment Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
on the Provider Enrollment webpage for additional information.  Call (877) 638-
3472 (select option 2 for providers and then option 6 for provider enrollment) to 
discuss any further questions you may have.  

Provider Re-Enrollment Process 
Is Under Way  
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Division of Health Care Financing and 
Policy (DHCFP) 

HP Enterprise Services 
(HPES) 

I n December 2011, the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy 
(DHCFP) announced that, effective January 1, 2012, Nevada would accept 

both Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) X12 Version 5010 and Version 
4010 transactions.  Nevada announced that it would support Dual Use of these 
transactions at a minimum for the duration of the Discretion Period announced 
by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), which began January 
1, 2012, and continued through March 31, 2012. 

DHCFP announced that effective April 1, 2012, it would continue to accept 
X12 transactions in both the 4010 and 5010 versions until June 30, 2012.   

Effective July 1, 2012, only the Version 5010 format is accepted. 

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up providers and trading partners (aka 
service centers) who wish to continue to conduct business with Nevada using 
electronic transactions must transition to ASC X12 Version 5010.  Testing is 
supported by EDIFECS Inc. through the EDIFECS Ramp Management Testing 
Solution.  Contact the help desk via email at nvmmis.edirampsupport@hp.com 
to request access to the testing tool and instructions. 

Only ASC X12 Version 5010 Format       
Accepted Effective July 1, 2012 

http://www.medicaid.nv.gov/providers/enroll.aspx
http://www.medicaid.nv.gov/providers/enroll.aspx
http://www.medicaid.nv.gov/providers/enroll.aspx
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Screening for Provider 
Preventable Conditions   

B eginning with claims with July 1, 2012, dates of 
service, HP Enterprise Services (HPES) will 

screen all prior authorization requests for Provider Pre-
ventable Conditions (PPCs).  This is part of Nevada 
Medicaid’s implementation of Section 2702 of the Pa-
tient Protection and Affordable Care Act, which prohib-
its payment for conditions caused by providers.  It is 
similar to the treatment of hospital-acquired conditions 
(HACs) by the Medicare program.   

For information on the final rule, visit Medicaid.gov at 
http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-
Information/By-Topics/Financing-and-Reimbursement/
Provider-Preventable-Conditions.html. 

The conditions targeted for non-payment, established by 
the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), 
are either high cost or high volume or both, and could 
reasonably have been prevented through the application 
of evidence-based guidelines. 

If it is determined that a prior authorization request in-
cludes treatment for a PPC, the portion of the request at-
tributable to the PPC will be denied. Note that the denial 
is for payment only and that any medically-necessary 
treatment is to be delivered to recipients. The existing 
appeals process is available for determinations of a PPC. 

The second part of implementation will be a retrospective 
review of hospital claims. Claims fitting the criteria for a 
PPC will be identified and providers will be supplied in-
formation identifying the potential PPCs using the same 
process and timing for identifying and reviewing Medi-
care HACs.  Providers will have 30 days to review and 
respond to any discrepancies, and provider-confirmed 
PPCs will be subject to payment reduction. 

Changes to the Medicaid Services Manual (MSM) Section 
105.2A and the State Plan sections 4.19a, 4.19b and 4.19d 
were made after input from providers at two public work-
shops. 

Fingerprint-based Criminal History and Child Abuse  
and Neglect Screening (CANS) Requirements  

T he following announcement applies to all Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up providers:  

In order to comply with the Adam Walsh Child Protection Act of 2006, a full, fingerprint-based criminal 
history and Child Abuse and Neglect Screening (CANS) must be conducted for all prospective foster/adoptive 
parent(s) and household members over the age of eighteen (18) prior to the placement of children in foster/
adoptive homes.  This requirement also extends to employees or volunteers and any persons providing care to 
foster children.   

Additional background investigations must be conducted every five (5) years thereafter.  More information can 
be found at the Division of Child and Family Services website at www.dcfs.state.nv.us. 

T he Division of Health Care Financing and Policy 
(DHCFP) has announced the Nevada Incentive 

Payment Program for Electronic Health Records (EHR) 
will begin to accept provider registrations from the Cen-
ters for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) in late 
summer 2012.  This means that Nevada providers will 
be able to register for the program with CMS, and then 
access the Nevada Electronic Health Record Incentive 
system to complete their Medicaid EHR Incentive At-
testation and receive their incentive payment.    

Additional Nevada Medicaid EHR Incentive Program 
news, updates and program information can be found on 
the DHCFP website (https://dhcfp.nv.gov/
EHRIncentives.htm).  Check the site often for additional 
details, including dates when Nevada Registrations can 
be completed on the CMS Registration website. 

Nevada Incentive Payment Program News  

Preventive Medical Services     
Covered by Nevada Medicaid  

N evada Medicaid reimburses for preventive 
services for women, children, men and family 

planning as recommended by the United States Pre-
ventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) A and B 
Recommendations. 

Preventive medicine/health refers to health care that 
focuses on disease (or injury) prevention.  Preven-
tive health also assists the provider in identifying a 
recipient’s current or possible future health care 
risks through assessments, lab work and other diag-
nostic studies. 

Medicaid Services Manual (MSM) Chapter 600, 
Physician Services, Attachment A, was updated 
effective April 11, 2012.  Review pages 18-25 of 
Attachment A for the topics and descriptions of the 
preventive health services covered by Nevada Medi-
caid. 

http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Financing-and-Reimbursement/Provider-Preventable-Conditions.html
http://dhcfp.nv.gov/MSM%20Table%20of%20Contents.htm
http://dhcfp.nv.gov/MSM%20Table%20of%20Contents.htm
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/EHRIncentives.htm
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/EHRIncentives.htm
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Quarterly Provider Training Update  

T he Annual Medicaid Conference will be held in 
Reno October 17, 2012, and in Las Vegas October 

24, 2012.  The breakout sessions for the Conference have 
been announced.  Providers may register for the Confer-
ence now by using FA-41.  The session locations, dates 
and times are listed below. 

Note:  All General and Breakout Session content is the 
same in both morning and afternoon sessions, and content 

is the same in both Reno and Las Vegas, which allows 
providers to select the most convenient destination.   

Each Conference will begin with a General Session, fol-
lowed by a break, then the Breakout Sessions.  When you 
register, you will choose from the following Breakout 
Sessions.   

Each location will follow this schedule: 

General Morning Session 8:30-10:00 a.m.  General Afternoon Session 1:30 – 3 p.m. 

Break 10:00-10:15 a.m. Break 3-3:15 p.m. 

Breakout Sessions   Breakout Sessions   

Personal Care Services 10:15-noon Personal Care Services 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

Skilled Nursing Facilities 10:15-noon Skilled Nursing Facilities 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

Behavioral Health 10:15-noon Behavioral Health 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

Physician 10:15-noon Physician 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

Hospital 10:15-noon Hospital 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

Dental 10:15-noon Dental 3:15 – 5:00 p.m. 

T he HP Enterprise Services (HPES) training team 
will conduct provider training workshops in July, 

August and September, leading up to the Annual Medi-
caid Conference in October.  If you have registered for 
a workshop, you will receive a reminder notice of the 
workshop date, time and location approximately two 
weeks prior to the workshop.  Descriptions of the up-
coming workshops are below. 

JULY:  The July workshops will focus on Adjustments 
and Voids, Submitting a Special Batch request, and Ap-
peals. The workshop content includes: 

 When and how to Adjust or Void a claim; claim 
form instructions 

 When and how to submit an Appeal; appeal sce-
narios; the workflow process 

 When and how to submit a Special Batch claim; 
the workflow process 

AUGUST:  A virtual classroom in August will provide 
an Introduction to Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check 
Up.  The workshop content will include: 

 The benefits to providers of enrolling in Nevada 
Medicaid and Nevada Check Up 

 The benefits to their recipients 

 The role of Nevada’s Medicaid Managed Care 

Organizations (MCO) 

SEPTEMBER:  The September workshops will give 
providers an overview of the Medicaid Services Manual 
(MSM).  The workshop content will include:  

 The significance of the MSM 

 How to find policy information that applies to all 
providers 

 How to find policy information that applies to 
their provider type 

New Provider Training:  This workshop will give pro-
viders new to Nevada Medicaid an overview of how the 
program works including what is expected of each pro-
vider.  The content of the workshop includes:  

 Expectations of the provider 

 How to “connect” with HPES 

○ The Electronic Verification System and the 
online prior authorization system, including reg-
istration, navigation, claims review, PA review 
and recipient eligibility 

 An overview of billing for Medicaid 

The full 2012 workshop schedule is published in the 
2012 Provider Training Catalog and in the automated 
Provider Training Registration Form (FA-41). 

Annual Medicaid Conference in October 

http://www.medicaid.nv.gov/downloads/provider/NV_Provider_Training_Catalog_2012.pdf
https://www.seeuthere.com/rsvp/invitation/invitation.asp?id=/m1c9c3a7-531QKF5KXQWE0
https://www.seeuthere.com/rsvp/invitation/invitation.asp?id=/m1c9c3a7-531QKF5KXQWE0
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Behavioral Health Provider Types 14 and 82:   

Tips to Avoid the Top Errors That May Affect Your 
Claims Payment  

M ost providers are busy seeing patients while also 
trying to run a business; however, close attention 

also needs to be given to filing clear and accurate Ne-
vada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up claims that are in 
compliance with policies and procedures.  Failure to do 
so can expose your practice/business to compliance vio-
lations.  Errors that are not self-corrected can lead to 
various administrative actions, including recoupment of 
overpayments, provider suspensions, terminations and 
other actions as detailed Medicaid Services Manual 
(MSM) Chapter 3300, Program Integrity.    

Ensure that claims submitted by your practice/business 
are accurate.  Your Medicaid claims compliance plan 
should provide special attention to the following list of 
errors most commonly made by Behavioral Health pro-
vider types 14 and 82.  These errors can affect claims 
payment. 

Error #1:  Inadequate or no docu-
mentation to support the claim (see 
MSM 403.2A6).   Specifically, re-
cords must include AT LEAST:  

 Recipient’s name,  

 Progress notes with specific 
contents, including acknowl-
edgement of recipient’s/
guardian’s choice in selecting 
providers, 

 Indications of the recipient’s 
and family’s/guardian’s in-
volvement in care planning,  

 Indications of recipient’s and family’s/guardian’s 
awareness of scope, goals and objectives of ser-
vices available, and 

 Recipient’s and family’s/guardian’s acknowl-
edgement that services are designed to reduce the 
intensity/duration of care to the least intensive 
level possible while maintaining overall health 
(MSM 403.6B1 and 3303.2B). 

Common errors include documentation that only con-
tains part of the required information and records that 
are not maintained to current date.  

TIP:  You may want to create a checklist for you and 
your staff to be sure all of the required documents are in 
the file.  Remember, you bear the ultimate responsibility 
for the contents of case files. 

Error #2:  Progress notes not documented on the 

date of service (MSM 403.6B1b). 

Common errors include progress notes for a range of 
service dates, repetitive progress notes (cut and paste), 
missing notes for each date of service, and untimely 
preparation of progress notes. 

TIP:  You should create a procedure to periodically 
review a batch of random case files, so your staff will 
know you expect them to be up-to-date at all times.  
Reviewing them all at one time will also make you 
aware of providers who “cut and paste” repetitive case 
notes.    

Error #3:  Billing individual services instead of 
group therapy services (MSM 403.4c2 and 403.4c3). 

 Individual Services are one-to-one interventions.   

Common errors include a single 
servicing provider claiming individ-
ual services/sessions during the 
same day and time for more than 
one recipient.  

TIP:  When you periodically re-
view files, have a schedule of group 
therapy sessions handy so you can 
crosscheck times and dates.  Verify 
that dates and times of individual 
services for each recipient do not 
conflict or overlap with other recipi-
ents   

Error #4:  Providers practicing 
outside of their scope of service (MSM 403.2A3 and 
403.2B2). 

 Remember, you are responsible for knowing 
what your staff is qualified to do. 

Common errors include replacing planned providers 
with those that are not qualified to perform the service 
when logistical issues arise. 

TIP:  Have a contingency plan for employee absences 
such as sick days or vacation.  Your back-up staff 
should be qualified to handle all types of services you 
provide.   

Error #5:  Day Treatment services provided in the 
recipient’s home or home-like setting (MSM 
403.6E1). 

 Day Treatment must be facility based and out of 
the home. 

     Continued on page 5 

TIP:   

Have a contingency plan 
for employee absences 
such as sick days or va-
cation.  Your back-up 

staff should be qualified 
to handle all types of 
services you provide.   

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/MSM%20Table%20of%20Contents.htm
http://dhcfp.nv.gov/MSM%20Table%20of%20Contents.htm
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 Day Treatment does NOT include routine supervi-
sion and monitoring. 

 You may NOT bill separately for Basic Skills 
Training (BST), Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
(PSR), Peer-to-Peer Support and Crisis Interven-
tion (CI) services on the same day and time you bill 
for Day Treatment. 

Common errors include overlapping Day Treatment and 
other services, and claiming in-home therapy as Day 
Treatment. 

TIP:  Make sure your staff understands this important 
distinction, and review case notes for inaccuracies or 
scheduling conflicts. 

Error #6:  Enticement, kickbacks or stipends by/from 
providers (MSM 3302.5 and 3303.1A2h). 

 It may seem like Medicaid 101, but a surprising 
number of providers still fall for this trap. 

TIP:  Watch for unusual influxes of recipients or recipi-
ents all coming from similar sources.  Someone may be 
soliciting them. 

Error#7:  Billing for services not provided to maxi-
mize authorized units (MSM 3303.1A2w and 
3303.1.A2x2). 

TIP:  If your authorized units ALWAYS match treat-
ment billings, there is probably an issue.  Keep track of 
missed recipient appointments or sick days, so you can 
reconcile them with claims. 

More tips for establishing an in-house Medicaid compli-
ance program can be found on the U.S. Department of 
Health & Human Services Office of Inspector (OIG) 
Compliance page:  http://oig.hhs.gov/compliance/
compliance-guidance/index.asp 

Please keep in mind that the Nevada Medicaid and Ne-
vada Check Up provider contract requires: 

 1.6  To comply with protocols set forth in the Ne-
vada Medicaid Services Manual, the Nevada 
Check Up Manual and Medicaid Operations Man-
ual, including but not limited to, verifying recipient 
eligibility, obtaining prior authorizations, submit-
ting accurate, complete and timely claims, and 
conducting business in such a way the recipient 
retains freedom of choice of provider. 

Your State of Nevada Medicaid program specialist can 
answer claims and claims management questions.  For the 
telephone number to contact your program specialist, log 
on to http://dhcfp.nv.gov.  Under the “DHCFP Index” 
box, move your cursor over “Contact Us” and select 
“Main Phone Numbers.”  Call the Administration Office 
of the area you wish to contact. 

Behavioral Health Provider Types 14 and 82:  Tips to Avoid the Top Errors That May Affect 
Your Claims Payment 
Continued from page 4 

Occupational/Physical Therapy Providers Needed  

for PCS Program in Northern and Rural Nevada  

I n March 2010, DHCFP modified the Nevada 
Medicaid Personal Care Services (PCS) program 

to require the completion of the initial functional as-
sessment for PCS by an Occupational or Physical 
Therapist (OT/PT).  Currently, there is a special need 
for OT/PT providers to serve the northern and rural 
areas of Nevada. 

By participating in the program and assisting with 
“hands on” assessments in the recipient’s home, OTs/
PTs are providing Medicaid recipients with an accu-
rate functional assessment.   

This is not an employment position with the State, 
but is done by Nevada-licensed OTs/PTs or eligible 
hospitals, clinics or agencies enrolled as Medicaid 
providers.  If you are an OT/PT provider interested in 
assisting the Nevada Medicaid PCS program and 

completing these functional assessments, you will 
need to be a Nevada Medicaid provider and attend a 
training session on PCS policies and functional as-
sessment tools.    

OT/PTs who are interested in completing these as-
sessments should verify their enrollment or begin the 
enrollment process.  To enroll as a Nevada Medicaid 
provider, see the instructions and forms on the 
“Provider Enrollment” webpage.   

Trainings on the assessment process are scheduled 
periodically.  To place your name on the list for a 
training session or to obtain more information about 
this program, please contact                                   
Pam Loomis at  pamela.j.loomis@hp.com or          
Tammy Moffitt at TammyMoffitt@dhcfp.nv.gov. 

http://oig.hhs.gov/compliance/compliance-guidance/index.asp
http://oig.hhs.gov/compliance/compliance-guidance/index.asp
https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Phonelist.htm


 

Second Quarter 2012 6               Volume 9, Issue 2 

 

Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up News 

Contact Information 

I f you have a question concerning the manner in which a claim was adjudicated, please contact HPES by 
calling (877) 638-3472, press option 2 for providers and then option 3 for claim status. 

If you have a question about Medicaid Service Policy or Rates, you can go to the Division of Health Care Fi-
nancing and Policy (DHCFP) website at http://dhcfp.nv.gov.  Under the “DHCFP Index” box, move your cur-
sor over “Contact Us” and select “Main Phone Numbers.”  Call the Administration Office of the area you 
would like to contact. 

Quarterly Update on Claims Paid 

N evada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up paid out to providers $411,411,968.66 in claims during the three-
month period of January, February and March 2012.  Nearly 100 percent of current claims continue to be 

adjudicated within 30 days.   

DHCFP and HP Enterprise Services thank you for participating in Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. 

Tips When Submitting Paper Claims 

T o help ensure your paper claim is processed quickly and correctly, please remember the following instruc-
tions. 

 When printing the form, use the appropriate full-size format of the claim form.  The image must be 
full page; do not reduce the size of the image on the 8 ½ by 11 inch page.  Copies must be of the 
original claim and must have a light background.  Dark images are not acceptable and will be re-
turned. 

 Recipient data on the claim form needs to be within the appropriate claim field and below the “field 
description.”  Data should not be shifted up, down or sideways.  Data that is typed over the claim 
“line” is not acceptable, because scanning becomes unreadable, and the claim will be returned to 
you. 

 The Explanation of Benefits (EOB), just like the claim form, must be suitable for scanning so that 
data can be accurately captured.  If the data is printed too light or is smudged, the claim will be re-
turned to you.  

 When you would like to request a claim be reprocessed, be sure to send the original claim with the 
supporting documents.  If you send only the supporting documents, such as your letter and EOB, the 
documents will be returned to you. 

https://dhcfp.nv.gov/Phonelist.htm

