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Medicare Part D Prescription Program begins 
January 2006 

Federal laws broadly known as the Medicare Modernization Act (MMA) (Public Law 108-
173) have created a Medicare prescription drug insurance plan and removed duplicate drug 
coverage from Medicaid. Nevada Medicaid will comply with the MMA by no longer paying for 
the majority of medications for Nevada Medicaid recipients eligible for both Medicaid and 
Medicare benefits (dual-eligible recipients).  

Effective Jan. 1, 2006, dual-eligible recipients will receive prescription drug coverage 
through a Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Plan (PDP) or Medicare Advantage Plan.  

Nevada’s dual-eligible recipients are receiving information regarding Medicare Part D from 
state and federal sources. The Nevada Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) is 
mailing letters of explanation to dual-eligible recipients. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services (CMS) is mailing a notification as well as an informational handbook titled “Medicare 
& You 2006” to Medicare recipients.  

Dual-eligible recipients who do not choose a PDP or Medicare Advantage Plan by the end of 
the year will be auto-enrolled in one of several available PDPs providing service in Nevada.  

Please be advised that as a result of the changeover, drugs that a Medicaid recipient is now 
receiving may either not be covered by his/her new Medicare prescription drug plan or may 
require prior authorization. The prescriber may contact the recipient’s Medicare drug plan with 
questions regarding drug coverage or consult the Formulary Finder on the CMS website at 
http://plancompare.medicare.gov/formularyfinder/drugSelect.asp 

Prescription co-payments for non-institutionalized dual eligibles will now be required ($1 for 
generics, $3 for brands). These should be billed to Medicaid via the First Health Services Point 
of Sale (POS) system. 

For dual-eligible recipients, Nevada Medicaid will continue to pay for the following types of 
drugs that, in most cases, will not be covered by their Medicare drug plan: 

 Over-the-counter medications (such as Benadryl, Colace, Senokot and Tylenol) 
 Vitamins and pre-natal vitamins 
 Barbiturates (such as Phenobarbital) 
 Cough and cold preparations 
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 Benzodiazepines (such as Ativan, Xanax, Valium and Restoril) 
More information is available for providers at the following two webpages on the CMS 

website: http://www.cms.hhs.gov/medicarereform and 
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/medlearn/drugcoverage.asp 

If recipients have questions about the new coverage, you may refer them to (800) 633-4227 
(TTY 877-486-2048); to the website: http://www.medicare.gov; to the Division of Aging 
Services’ State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) at (800) 307-4444 (or in Las Vegas 
486-3478); or to the Senior Rx Medicare Help Line at (866) 323-5953. 
 
 

New Procedures for Billing with Third Party Liability 
The Nevada Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) and First Health 

Services have revised billing procedures to alleviate adjudication problems on claims with Third 
Party Liability (TPL). Providers are required to include all TPL payments when billing Nevada 
Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. 

New instructions have been created for ADA (dental), CMS-1500 and UB-92 claim forms 
submitted with TPL. Providers who bill using CMS-1500 and UB-92 forms will be notified 
through Web Announcements and Remittance Advice messages when the new instructions for 
claims with TPL are posted on the First Health Services website at https://medicaid.nv.gov (select 
“Billing Manuals” from the “Providers” drop-down menu). Revised billing instructions are 
currently posted for ADA claim forms. Please review the complete billing procedures. 

Effective dates for the new billing procedures are:  
 ADA claim forms – November 18, 2005 
 CMS-1500 claim forms – January 13, 2006  
 UB-92 claim forms – February 24, 2006  

Beginning on the above effective dates, if TPL billing procedures are not followed claims 
will not be adjudicated properly and can result in denials. 

For any questions regarding billing procedures, please call First Health Services’ Customer 
Service Center at (877) 638-3472. 

 
 

Save Time and Money with Electronic Remittance 
Advices 

For each week in which Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up providers have claims 
activity, First Health Services sends to them a Remittance Advice (RA) reporting the 
adjudication of claims submitted. Unless otherwise specified, a paper RA is mailed to providers. 

Providers can save both time and money by requesting to have their RAs transmitted to them 
electronically. Time and operational costs are saved by removing the wait time for paper RAs to 
arrive through the mail and eliminating the task of posting the claims into a Practice 
Management System. Providers who receive an Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA) are able to 
import the RA file; the payment details are then posted to account receivables. 

http://www.cms.hhs.gov/medicarereform
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/medlearn/drugcoverage.asp
http://www.medicare.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov


                                                                                                                                                                                                     

The 835 Health Care Claim Payment Advice Transaction (835 ERA) is an electronic 
Explanation of Benefits (EOB) detailing services being paid, services not being paid and reasons 
for each with edit codes specified. Some clearinghouses offer providers the option of accepting 
and processing electronic data transfers, such as the 835 ERA. An additional benefit to the 835 
ERA is that, when the situation warrants, First Health Services sends an unsolicited Claims 
Status Response Transaction (277u) to notify providers when claims have pended. 

To receive an electronic remittance advice, 
contact your clearinghouse or if you aren’t set 
up with a clearinghouse contact your software 
vendor for setup recommendations. You will 
need to submit to First Health Services form 
FH-37 (Service Center Authorization Form for 
Providers) to authorize your service center to 
receive and process your ERA. FH-37 is 
available online; select “Electronic Claims/EDI” 
or “Forms” from the “Providers” drop-down 
menu at https://medicaid.nv.gov. Mailing 
instructions are on the form.  

The Companion Guide for Transaction 835 Remittance Advice provides software vendors 
with technical specifications. The Guide is posted under EDI Companion Guides on the 
“Electronic Claims/EDI” webpage at https://medicaid.nv.gov.  

Please note that consent to an ERA does not authorize electronic transfer of claims payment. 
If you are interested in completing the electronic loop, you may authorize First Health Services 
to directly deposit electronic payments into your bank account. Funds will be received faster 
since they will be transferred into your bank account rather than mailed in check form. To start 
this process, you will need to complete and submit form FH-32 Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Agreement (for the form and instructions select “Forms” from the “Providers” drop-down menu 
at https://medicaid.nv.gov).  

For questions regarding EFT, contact First Health Services’ Provider Enrollment Unit by e-
mailing nevadamedicaid@fhsc.com or by calling (877) 638-3472. Providers do not have to 
receive ERAs in order to request EFT. 

For more information regarding ERAs, contact the First Health Services EDI Coordinator by 
e-mailing nvedi@fhsc.com or by calling (877) 638-3472. 
 

 

PA and PCA News Items 
New Policy Chapter for Personal Care Services: 

Chapter 3500-Personal Care Aide Program (PCA) of the Division of Health Care Financing 
and Policy’s Medicaid Services Manual (MSM) became effective June 29, 2005. To review the 
new Chapter online visit https://medicaid.nv.gov. Select “DHCFP Web Site” from the “Quick 
Links” drop-down menu; click on “Medicaid Service Manuals” then click on “Chapter” under 
3500-Personal Care Aide Program (PCA).   

Per Chapter 3500 Section 3503.1D.1.a of the MSM, the provider agency can no longer make 
initial requests for services or request an authorization to transfer services for a recipient who is 

https://medicaid.nv.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov


                                                                                                                                                                                                     

currently on service, but new to the agency.  The chapter states that a request can be made by the 
recipient, a legally responsible adult, personal care representative, or individuals covered under 
the confidentiality requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA).  

Therefore, First Health Services will no longer accept requests for initial assessments or to 
transfer a recipient for services unless a HIPAA-compliant consent form is attached to the prior 
authorization request. 
 
Reminder for Dental Providers:  

A prior authorization (PA) is not required for dentures and partials. Section 1003.5.A.1 of 
Chapter 1000-Dental Services of the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy’s Medicaid     
Services Manual (MSM) states the following policy:

  Partial dentures and full dentures may be provided when necessary 
        to prevent the progression of weight loss and promote adequate 
        mastication. Medicaid will pay for replacement of dentures or partials 
        no more than once every 5 years, when medically necessary. 

              Recipients are not eligible for dentures following a partial, unless 5 years have 
                    lapsed from the date of service the partial was billed and paid for.   

      Providers may call (800) 648-7593, ext. 2 (Dental) to review a recipient's history to see if 
            Nevada Medicaid has paid for either a partial or a denture in the last 5 years. 
 
Medicare Exhausted Benefits in the PA Process: 

For paper Prior Authorization (PA) requests:  If the recipient’s Medicare benefits (Part A, 
Part B or both) have been exhausted, providers must attach to the PA request a Medicare 
Catastrophic Coverage Act (MECCA or MCCA) form or the Medicare Explanation of Benefits 
(MEOB).  If a MECCA or MEOB is not available, call (800) 525-2395 before submitting the PA 
request. 

For PA requests using the Online Prior Authorization System (OPAS):  If the recipient’s 
Medicare benefits (Part A, Part B or both) have been exhausted, in addition to submitting a PA 
request through OPAS please fax the MECCA form or the MEOB to (866) 480-9903.  Please 
note on the PA review that “MECCA or MEOB was faxed” and note the PA Request ID Number 
on the fax.  For information regarding OPAS, go to https://medicaid.nv.gov (select “Prior 
Authorization” from the “Providers” drop-down menu, and click on the “Online Prior 
Authorization System” link). 

Reminder:  Prior Authorization is not a guarantee of payment.   

 
 
 
 
 

https://medicaid.nv.gov


                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Provider Responsibility to Verify Recipient Eligibility 
Providers must always verify a recipient’s Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up 

eligibility benefits before rendering services. 
The recipient’s plastic Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up identification card does not 

guarantee eligibility and does not contain eligibility data. The card, which shows the recipient’s 
11-digit billing number, last name, first name, sex and birthday, is used for identification 
purposes only. 

Information regarding the category of eligibility, managed care, recipient restrictions and 
Third Party Liability is accessible through the following sources: 

 First Health Services’ Electronic Verification System (EVS) – log on to 
https://medicaid.nv.gov. From the “Providers” drop-down menu select “EVS Logon” or 
“EVS User Manual.” 

 A swipe card system – contact your swipe card vendor for details. 
 The Nevada Medicaid Audio Response System (ARS) – call (800) 942-6511. 

For specific details on how to determine a recipient’s Health Maintenance Organization 
(HMO) enrollment when you access EVS, please refer to the article titled “Verify Recipient 
Eligibility and Benefit Plans on a Monthly Basis” in the Summer 2005 issue of Nevada Medicaid 
News. The provider newsletter is available online at https://medicaid.nv.gov (select 
“Announcements/Newsletters” from the “Providers” drop-down menu, then click on “Summer 
2005 Newsletter”). 

 
Notification of Public Hearings Regarding Medicaid 
Policy Changes 

The State of Nevada Department of Human Resources’ Division of Health Care Financing 
and Policy (DHCFP) holds public hearings to discuss proposed changes regarding Nevada 
Medicaid and Nevada Check Up policy. 

Providers may request to be notified of the hearings by contacting Nancy Davis at DHCFP. 
Call (775) 684-3715 or e-mail her at ndavis@dhcfp.state.nv.us and ask to receive the 
notifications by regular mail or e-mail. 

Public notices are posted on the DHCFP’s Nevada Medicaid website (at 
https://medicaid.nv.gov select “DHCFP Web Site” from the “Quick Links” drop-down menu; 
select “DHCFP Homepage”; then click on “Public Notices” from the menu on the left side of the 
webpage). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://medicaid.nv.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov
https://medicaid.nv.gov


                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Your Options When a Claim Has Been Denied 
If you do not agree with the denial of a claim, please contact a First Health Services 

Customer Service Representative (CSR). A CSR may be able to identify and resolve the issue 
over the phone, or direct you on possible resubmission options so the claim can be re-evaluated 
for payment determination. 

Providers have the option to appeal a claim that has been denied. Appeals must be 
postmarked no later than 30 days from the date on the Remittance Advice (RA) showing 
the claim as denied. For complete instructions on how to file an appeal, see the “Appeals” 
sections of the Provider Billing Manuals posted under “Providers” at https://medicaid.nv.gov. 

A claim that was paid incorrectly cannot be appealed. If a claim was paid incorrectly, request 
an adjustment as described in the Provider Billing Manuals. 

If you have any questions regarding the adjudication of your claims, please call First Health 
Services at (877) 638-3472. 

 
 

Quarterly Update on Claims Paid 
The Nevada Medicaid program paid out to providers more than $259,552,528.42 in claims 

during the three-month period of July, August and September 2005. Nearly 100 percent of 
current claims continue to be adjudicated within 30 days.  

The Nevada Division of Health Care Financing and Policy and First Health Services thank 
you for participating in Nevada Medicaid and Nevada Check Up. 

 
 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
If you have a question on Claims Payment, please contact First Health Services Corporation 

by calling (877) 638-3472 or e-mailing nevadamedicaid@fhsc.com 
If you have questions about Medicaid Service Policy or Rates, you can go the Division of 

Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) website:  www.dhcfp.state.nv.us and look for the 
item labeled:  CONTACT INFORMATION. Move your cursor to that item and follow the 
directions to find the person at DHCFP who can answer your question. You can either phone the 
contact person or send an e-mail. 
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