

January 8, 2015 (Updated January 14, 2015)
Announcement 861

## Implementation of Hospital Presumptive Eligibility Option for Acute Care Hospitals (Provider Types 11 and 75)

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) gives qualified hospitals the opportunity to determine presumptive eligibility (PE) for certain Medicaid eligible populations. PE enables hospitals to temporarily enroll individuals in the Medicaid program. The temporary enrollment provides individuals immediate access to medical care and a pathway to longer-term Medicaid coverage. This enrollment ensures provider compensation for all covered services, including hospital-based services, while a final eligibility determination is made.

Only acute care hospitals (provider types 11 and 75) are eligible to enroll as a PE qualified provider. To be eligible to make PE determinations, a qualified hospital must:

- Participate in the Medicaid program as an active provider.
- Complete the Nevada Medicaid Hospital Presumptive Eligibility Provider Addendum.
- Attend mandatory training.
- Agree to make PE determinations consistent with state policies and procedures.
- Agree to be listed on the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS) website as an authorized site for application assistance.
- Provide application assistance for anyone requesting coverage under PE, not just those in need of hospital services.
- Meet performance standards established by the state.

Acute care hospitals interested in enrolling as a PE provider may do so by submitting a completed Nevada Medicaid Hospital Presumptive Eligibility Provider Addendum and the sign-up sheet listing the employees that will be participating in the mandatory training. These items can be sent to the <a href="https://document.org/physiol/Ph

The mandatory training sessions will be held at the DWSS offices located in Carson City and Las Vegas on:

- January 12-15, 2015
- March 2-4, 2015 (three-day session)
- March 23-25, 2015 (three-day session)

If you have questions regarding presumptive eligibility policy or regulations, contact Nova Murray at <a href="mailto:namurray@dwss.nv.gov">namurray@dwss.nv.gov</a>. For enrollment questions, contact <a href="mailto:DHCFP@DHCFP.nv.gov">DHCFP@DHCFP.nv.gov</a>.



June 16, 2015
Announcement 931

## Hospital Presumptive Eligibility Annual Training Calendar Dates and Sign-up Guidelines

The Division of Welfare and Supportive Services (DWSS) will be conducting Hospital Presumptive Eligibility (HPE) training(s) for providers who would like to participate in the Hospital Presumptive Eligibility determination process. The HPE trainings will be held on a quarterly basis. The next three-day training sessions are scheduled for:

Northern Nevada	Southern Nevada
DWSS – Carson City District Office	DWSS - Southern Professional Development Center
2533 N. Carson St.	701 N Rancho Rd
Carson City, NV 89706	Las Vegas, NV 89107
August 10 – August 12	August 10 – August 12
October 19 – October 21	October 19 – October 21

In an effort to maximize state resources, as training time and space is very limited, it has been requested by DWSS that the minimum requirements be established as follows:

- In order to qualify for HPE enrollment training, Addendums and sign-up sheets must be completed, signed by the Hospital Administrator and approved by the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP) 10 business days prior to the date of the requested training. If the 10-day deadline is not met, the provider will need to wait to sign up for the next available training session.
- A minimum of 5 individuals will need to be enrolled in order for the training to be held, not to exceed 18 attendees (Northern Nevada) and 15 attendees (Southern Nevada).
- If the minimum class size cannot be established in either Northern Nevada or Southern Nevada, the provider will have the option of sending their attendees to the location that has the largest attendance. For instance, if there are 3 individuals registered to attend the Northern class and 10 individuals are registered for the Southern class, the training will be held in the South and the provider has the option of sending the attendees from the North to the location in the South or waiting for the next quarterly training.

Once your registration has been approved, a confirmation email will be sent to you regarding the time and location of the training.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Ashley Barton at ashley.barton@dhcfp.nv.gov.