

June 20, 2019 Web Announcement 1915

Attention Personal Care Services Providers:

Transfer Process Changes Due to Electronic Visit Verification (EVV)

Attention provider types 30 (Personal Care Services – Provider Agency) and 83 (Personal Care Services - Intermediary Service Organization):

Due to the Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) process that will be implemented in August of 2019, mandatory changes will occur with the Personal Care Services (PCS) transfer process. To request a transfer, providers must submit the transfer request form a minimum of 10 business days prior to the requested start date of transferred services. The requested start date must be at least 10 business days from the date the request is submitted. Transfer requests are processed in the order that they are received. If the requested start date is not listed or is not at least 10 business days or more from the date of submission, the prior authorization start date will be 10 business days from the date the transfer request is received by Nevada Medicaid. Providers must obtain prior authorization prior to the start of care (Medicaid Services Manual Chapter 3500 Section 3503.1H7) as transfer requests will not be backdated. Services provided without a prior authorization will not be reimbursed.

This process change will be effective for any transfer requests received by Nevada Medicaid on or after July 10, 2019.

As a reminder, the State of Nevada will implement an EVV system, as mandated by the 21st Century Cures Act, to monitor visits for all State Plan personal care services as well as some waiver services.